Awful Beautiful Life

I love this crazy, tragic, sometimes almost magic, awful beautiful life…

Yes, I am Alive November 7, 2008

Filed under: Marriage,Miscellaneous,Parenting,Pregnancy — Sara @ 10:35 am

I know.  It’s been a while since we’ve talked.  But, I have an excellent excuse!  I like to call it pregnancy woe #435: Anemia.  If I had posted anything in the past two months, I would have been so dull and unentertaining you might not want to be my friend anymore, so really I was doing you a favor.  Now don’t get your hopes up too high about the awesomeness of this post, but here’s an update to all things Heath.

35 weeks prego.  I look tired...

35 weeks prego. I look tired...


It turns out there’s an explanation for why I never got the 2nd trimester energy, nails that could grow forever and never break, and headaches (and why I suddenly had the overwhelming urge to chew ice ALL THE TIME- so sorry @terrbear).  Sadly, I wasn’t diagnosed until about 6 weeks ago and the treatment takes 4-6 weeks to make you all warm and fuzzy inside again, so there went 3 months of my life…  Let me just tell you that anemia sucks.  But, luckily, what I was going through was treatable and not just another one of those pregnancy side effects that you have to suffer through in order to produce a beautiful child 10 months later (yes, 10, the 9 month thing is a LIE).  More sadly, the treatment sucks because your body just doesn’t want to take 5-6 times the amount of iron it needs so you get wonderful side-effects from that until your body can adjust.  BUT, a month or so later, you feel halfway back to your normal self.

I better enjoy being “myself” again, too, cause this baby’s coming SOON.  We keep telling Nate about the new baby and then lament to ourselves about how it’s going to rock his world to have someone else get attention in this family.  Then we realize, this baby is going to rock OUR world, too.  TWO KIDS!?!  Are you serious?  I don’t know what we were thinking…  But now, it’s happening, likely within the month (1 cm dilated yesterday!!).  And I’m sure it will be fine.  Or we will forget the beginning when it so was not fine at all because the rest is soooo much better than those first 2 months.

Nate’s growing by leaps and bounds everyday.  I can’t believe how big he’s gotten.  Ok, so his actual size is still pretty small thanks to our dwarf genes, but his mind is expanding like crazy.  He runs everywhere now, which is awesome for a mom who is 36 weeks pregnant and can barely waddle to walk, let alone run after him and scoop up his 23 pounds to keep him safe.  It’s also awesome because he can’t seem to keep his face without a bruise or scratch on it. 
16 months old.  How did he get this beautiful?!

16 months old. How did he get this beautiful?!

About the time an injury heals, he face-plants into a door, or pulls the kitchen drawer out and bangs the corner into his forehead, and here we go again with some gigantic bruise or cut that makes it look like we neglect or abuse our son.  He sure is a trooper, though.  A few minutes of crying and he never mentions it again. He’s so energetic that it was very difficult to take his picture this time around.  They were originally 12 month pics that turned into 16 month pics once moving and life got in the way of our oh-so-important picture schedule.  You’ll notice not a lot of smiling and A LOT of drool in them.  Luckily, he’s so cute and our photographer is so awesome that we still got tons of great images.

Terry and I took a “romantic” (read as we left Nate at home so we could take naps and go to a movie) trip to Lubbock to eat at all the awesome places we miss from college and go to a football game.  I’ll post more details about our adventure later.  Nate had his first real Halloween, which I will also post about later because there are just too many cute pictures to squeeze into an update post.  You can cheat and see them on our flickr page, but I will force you to look at them again when I finally blog about it.  We also had a super-fun Halloween party and you missed out if you didn’t come.  More on that in the Halloween post…  I sure am setting myself up to write a lot more posts before the baby comes.  Hopefully, you’ll get lucky and I’ll have time to get them all done. 🙂

Terry’s decided he wants to be in better shape when baby #2 gets here (yes, we still don’t know what the sex is and we’re still not telling what the names are).  He’s been dieting and working out like crazy and has lost something like 12 pounds in 3 weeks.  I’m so proud of him!  I, on the other hand, and am VERY close to passing that big, scary number on the scale.  Once I do, the scale and I will no longer be friends and it may end up being hidden away until this baby comes out.  Terry will just have to guess how his progress is coming until then.

So basically, I am still dying from this pregnancy, just in different ways that I was the last time we talked.  My back hurts in 3 places every night (and some times during the day) so my OB suggested I see a chiropractor.  Not sure if I’m going to try that out or not….  The baby has officially made my left lung/under rib area the resting place of its foot or hand or some appendage.  That feels great.  Heartburn has taken over my nights and Pepcid is my new best friend.  My restless legs have turned into one leg that cramps in 3 places most nights.  And my migraines have apparently returned after a very welcomed 2 month hiatus.  All I can say is thank goodness for darvocet (and those doctors better be right that it won’t hurt this baby!).

I think that’s all the highlights and complaints I have about the last two months.  But don’t worry, I’ll let you know if I think of anything else.  And look for new posts in the next week or so (crosses fingers).  I’ve really taken to this nesting thing and am running out of things I can do around the house since we don’t know the baby’s gender.  I’ve been focusing my energy on things like helping my stepmom re-decorate (like huge overhaul) her house (sooo fun to spend other people’s money!) and, hopefully, blogging more before the baby comes.  We all know I won’t be doing much of anything once this thing gets out of here (GET OUT, GET OUT SOON!).

Oh, and because I think this is the most hilarious thing from The Office in a long time:

“It squeaks when you bang it.”

“That’s what she said.”

And, because we beat #1 Texas last week (did you know?!?!?!), WRECK ‘EM!

 

3 Responses to “Yes, I am Alive”

  1. terry Says:

    14 pounds (max/min).

    get it right!

  2. Stephanie Says:

    I liked Pam’s “That’s what she said! That’s what she said!” from this week 🙂

    Dear Baby (Girl),

    Please get out of your Mommy’s tummy right before Thanksgiving. And don’t cause any trouble until then or I won’t share my pumpkin pie with you.

    Love,
    Aunt Steph

  3. […] I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect.  I mostly wanted to go to see if I was still anemic post-pregnancy.  (It turns out I’m not, so I have nothing to blame my constant exhaustion on […]


Leave a Reply

