Awful Beautiful Life

I love this crazy, tragic, sometimes almost magic, awful beautiful life…

The Big Burrito Debate November 13, 2008

Filed under: Marriage,Miscellaneous,Pregnancy — Sara @ 4:23 pm

I love Freebirds.  I even started a Facebook group to petition them to build one in Lubbock while we were living there (they actually have 3 there now!).  Over the past year or so, Terry decided that he favors Chipotle to Freebirds.  It’s like I don’t even know him anymore…  I tried it just to shut him up and was appalled.  It was awful.  Seriously?!?!  You like that place?  You like that place MORE than Freebirds?  I almost made him sleep on the couch that night.

Since then, several of our friends have also jumped on the Chipotle bandwagon and go on and on about how great it is.  I’ve attempted to de-friend them over it, but it hasn’t really worked out.  So a tiny part of me recently decided that it can’t be that awful.  Why would sooo many people go there and talk about how great it is?  It either actually is good or this is the biggest, most useless and expensive practical joke ever played on me.

Today, Nate and I went downtown to eat lunch with Terry.  We tried Shady Grove first (yummy), but there was a 25 minute wait and the pregnant lady and 17 month old were not waiting that long to eat. (In our defense, we had just driven 30 minutes to pick Terry up and were already hungry when we left the house…)  So, I quietly offer that, maybe, possibly we could go to Chipotle so I could give it a second chance.  Of course, Terry jumped at the opportunity, even though the 900 calorie burrito would break his diet for the day.  I’ve decided to compare my burrito experiences for you…

  1. Tortilla- this one goes to Chipotle.  I get the flour at Freebirds and it’s decent, but the Chipotle tortilla tastes more homemade and delicious-like.
  2. Chicken- Freebirds.  I don’t like spicy stuff.  At. All.  The chicken at Chipotle was ok, but it was a little too spiced and I’m sure what all parts of the chicken I was actually eating.  The goodness of the white meat chicken breast from Freebirds wins.  Hands down.
  3. Rice- Also better at Freebirds.  Chipotle rice has no flavor so they add cilantro to it.  I don’t like cilantro.  This one was an easy one.
  4. Cheese and sour cream- This one is a draw.  Although, you do have a choice of cheeses (or queso!) at Freebirds.  I am a lover of all cheese so I don’t really care as long as it’s on my burrito.  And sour cream is pretty difficult to mess up unless it’s old and moldy.  That would just be gross.
  5. Cookie- Freebirds wins again.  Mostly because they actually sell chocolate chip cookies.  And, because I have become particularly attached to chocolate chip cookies since becoming pregnant 9 months ago.
  6. Cups- Another draw.  I prefer styrofoam cups and neither establishment is willing to kill the environment to make me happy.  Negative points all around.
  7. Price- Chipotle.  We spent about $5 less today than we would have at Freebirds, mostly because Nate’s meal was $2 cheaper (this is particularly awesome since Nate only eats about half of his quesadilla usually).  Neither of us got drinks today, so that would add some to our normal tab, but it would still be slightly cheaper than Freebirds.
  8. Bathrooms- Draw again.  Neither place had great bathrooms (trust me, I have a lot of experience with public restrooms, mostly because I have a baby playing the drums on my bladder 24/7).
  9. Locations- Chipotle.  If I ever do decide that I like Chipotle, it’ll be great because they are EVERYWHERE.  The closest Freebirds to our house is about 25 minutes away.  Luckily, there is one less than 5 minutes from Terry’s work, so it’s not so bad when we go visit him for lunch.
  10. Chips- Freebirds.  I threw this one in there just to make the list an even 10 items.  I didn’t actually have any chips at Chipotle, but I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t like them as much as I like the chips at Freebirds. 🙂 (no, that’s not cheating.)

So there you have it, 4 for Freebirds, 3 for Chipotle, and 3 draws.  Unless my math is wrong (and it quite possibly is because I have a fried prego brain right now), FREEBIRDS WINS!  You should celebrate by eating it for dinner tonight.  You know you want to.

I guess that about wraps it up (ah, burrito pun…).  After today, I will say that Chipotle isn’t all that bad.  I will no longer gag when Terry mentions that he ate there, but he will most likely not be eating there with me again anytime soon.

 

4 Responses to “The Big Burrito Debate”

  1. terry Says:

    Chips = lame.

    Cilantro will grow on you, and you’ll realize chipotle is delicious. Like a fungus.

  2. cara Says:

    ewww I hate chipotle. just the fact people compare free bird to chipotle makes me weary on even trying it. haha. they are building a new one right next to my house though so I might have to give it a try.

  3. meezy Says:

    I like them both. But I generally like any food, so that isn’t saying much. The first time I had either I thought “what is the big deal, not that cool, taco bell FTW”. But they both grew on me and I like Chipotle better now for 2 main reasons — their Guac is awesome, and their shredded pork is awesome. However the reason Freebirds is still even in the running is because they have queso, Chipotle is stingy as hell with their chips (but the 7 they give you are super lime salty which is awesome), and the Freebirds near my work has a Nestle Cookie store next to it.

  4. Stephanie Says:

    I mostly agree with you, Hink. I am partial to Freebirds, and I wrote all the Chipotle hype off as the yuppie town I live in. I really don’t get the rice at Chipotle. No bueno. But I do have to add two cents. $.01: Chipotle has a better leftover factor. I get the bowl, not the burrito and then eat the leftovers cold. It’s actually not bad. It beats an unevenly heated burrito with warm lettuce. $.02: Chipotle actually does have better chips. They are thinner, cheaper, and have a slight lime taste – delish despite the remaining inferiority to Freebirds. I actually like another burrito place by my house, Qdoba, better. We’ll go next time you’re in the area. I promise it will be better than our Southern Recipe Cafe experience or it’s on me 🙂


Leave a Reply

