Awful Beautiful Life

I love this crazy, tragic, sometimes almost magic, awful beautiful life…

The End of Babyhood November 27, 2008

Filed under: Parenting — Sara @ 11:22 am

Happy Birthday to Nate! He turns 18 months old today. It’s also the official last day he is an only child. The last day he is our baby. He has grown into such a wonderful little boy over the past year and a half. At the

Nate, 18 months old.

Nate, 18 months old.

beginning, we weren’t sure all of us would survive this long. 🙂 I am amazed by him everyday. He is so intrigued by all of the things we take for granted because we experience them everyday and have become numb to their wonder. I know he is still very much a baby and will be for few more years. But, he will have to grow up faster than he may want to fill the shoes of a big brother.

Part of me feels guilty for bringing another child into our family while Nate is still so young. I feel like I am taking part of me away from him. I read a quote recently that said our hearts don’t have to be divided when we have more than one child, that they expand to make room for each addition. I can’t imagine having more love in my heart than I have for Nate, but I guess I will feel what that’s like tomorrow.

Another part of me is so excited to be giving Nate a sibling- and hopefully a lifelong friend. I am so blessed to have my sister in my life. She is truly my best friend and that will never change. We definitely weren’t always close, and for most of our childhood, we were enemies. I’m sure Nate and his new sibling will have their share of disagreements over the years, but I hope those fights help strengthen their relationship and that they can lean on each other when they need unconditional support.

We don’t have any Thanksgiving plans today.  We had our big meal with our family last night.  Today, we are spending time celebrating Terry’s birthday (since we’ll be in the hospital on Saturday) and enjoying our last hours as a family of 3.

These are my 18 favorite things about Nate at 18 months (thanks to Laurel for the idea):

  1. The way he giggles uncontrollably when we go see Daddy for lunch and he sees Daddy coming towards our car.
  2. The way he hugs and kisses Rojo and fusses when Dot runs away from him because he wants to pet her, too.
  3. How proud he is of himself when he tells us what he wants (and gets it) through signs or words.
  4. How he blows kisses, blinks his eyes, and waves at strangers.  Almost everyday, someone tells me that he just made their day.
  5. The way he runs to the window or garage door when he hears Daddy is home.
  6. How fascinated he is with lights and fans and signs please when he wants them on.
  7. His slobbery kisses on my cheek and baby belly.
  8. How he tries so hard to do something on his own (complete with an adorable face of concentration) and then asks for help with a big grin on his face when he can’t get it.
  9. His recent attachment his Mommy and the cute little way he says my name.
  10. The way he shows affection to his stuffed animals by cuddling them and giving them kisses.
  11. How he has to have his tiger under one arm, sippy cup of water under the other, and monkey music playing before he’ll lay down for nap.
  12. How resilient he is.  He gets a lot of bumps and bruises, and a quick hug and kiss from Mommy or Daddy is usually enough to make everything better and move onto the next adventure.
  13. The way he loves to wear hats- his Tech hat, Daddy’s Tech hat, or even a bucket he pretends is a hat.
  14. How he loves to throw things away for us and take his diaper to the diaper champ in the garage.
  15. How excited he gets when he sees a kitty on TV, running around the house, or outside and says “kitty!”.
  16. The way he runs EVERYWHERE because life is just that exciting.
  17. The way he plays peekaboo by hiding behind a column or squatting down by the ottoman or just putting his hands over his eyes so he thinks you can’t see him.
  18. How he knows which book he wants you to read him and will let you know if you choose the wrong one.

We love you Nate!  You will be a wonderful big brother, but you will always be my baby.

 

One Response to “The End of Babyhood”

  1. Diana Rupert Says:

    You really have a cute little boy here. Happy 18mons birthday Nate.
    And congrats to you for having a cute baby. 🙂


Leave a Reply

